Sympothizing with your killer?

As I sat here watching a movie I realized that I have some sympathy for the villain. I seemed to have some understanding on why they are the creature that they are. Watching as situations unfold that cause them to slowly crack before your eyes. You sit there justifying their actions while totally putting aside the fact that they were a bit unhinged to begin with. In the end you have justified their revenge and unwittingly become one of their supporters.

These are in no particular order:

MAY (2002)

May just wants to be loved. After being rejected by the two people who showed her a bit of attention things tend to go wrong.

Friday the 13th (1980)

Your son dies because none of the camp counselors are watching him because they were too busy having fun, doing drugs and having sex but nothing happens to them. So what do you do? You take revenge on the next run of counselors preventing them from killing another child. Mrs. Vorhees takes justice into her own hands.

Carrie (1976)

You are physically and mentally abused at home then go to school to escape home only to be tormented by the popular girls. What do you do? You use your newly found physic powers to seek revenge.

Frankenstein (1931)

I actually feel rather badly for the monster in the movie. He is a patch work of body parts, brought to life only to have everyone afraid of him and kill him.

Alien: Resurrection (1997)

In this one I only feel badly briefly at the end of the movie. The face on the 1/2 breed alien just tears me up, as it is slowly being sucked into deep space through the broken window on the space ship. If they did not bring that human aspect to it this would not have made my list.

Puppet Master (1989)

I just can not help myself to feel something for every single one of Toulon’s puppets. They all have their own personalities and you see a little human in them. Pinhead, Jester and Blade…aww you just give me warm squishy feelings all over.

That is all I can think of that I feel bad for….I am sure there are some more I am forgetting.

As an aside, and I will totally catch flack for this by someone I am sure but I so sympathize with Dr. Horrible from Doctor Horrible’s Sing-a-Long Blog. The poor man is just so pathetic you really can not help to feel bad for him. Doctor Horrible Official Site This is the geek in me. It is a great story though. You should check out the comic too, it gives some additional background on the characters.

Leave a comment